Anatomy of a 7135 board, some links added, more would be nice. Any suggestions?

Recently I have been attempting to modify a7135 board to allow it to run on series connected li-ion batteries instead of single or parallel batteries and during my searches and posts many terms come up that some readers may not know. What exactly is a “trace”, or “via”? Which pin is which? I thought it would be helpfull to show a sample board(copied from a Hikelite post) identifying various parts to use as a reference when discussing mods. I plan to use it or similar pics myself. I am just learning to use paint.net so please excuse any inadequacies in my efforts.

Here are some definitions:
Solder mask- The green paint that covers the board and the traces.
Trace- The copper strips that connects different pads on the board.
Pad- The solder spots that chips, wires, and other components are soldered to.
Chip- The multi-legged bugs that do the work on a board( in this case mainly 7135’s and Attiny 13).
Pin- The metal tabs that are the input, output, ground, etc. connections on the chips.
Input pad- Where to hook up the battery + and led + wires(also connected to center pad on other side).
Output pad- Where to hook up the led - wire.
Ground ring- This connects to the battery - wire and any slave boards.
Vdd- This is the control that allows the Mcu to turn the 7135 chips on and off. It’s how the modes created in the Mcu are translated into current in the LEDs(also connected to any slave boards).
Slave board- A board “slaved” to the mcu so that additional current can be fed to the same or additional LEDs.
Via- The tiny metal plated holes that form connections to the traces on either side of the board.
Input diode- This provides reverse polarity protection for the mcu.
Jumper- A wire that links two pads or pins on a board.