[WIP] possible 20mm buck w/ MAX16820

• UNTESTED
  • I’ve never worked with this buck controller before, not even built a test circuit.

The MAX16820 has been making the rounds a little bit recently. A couple of members have expressed an interest in building circuits with it, tterev3 has recommended it based on personal experience, and Cereal_killer has shared some WIP boards using it. I’ve looked over the datasheet a fair amount and looked over some other people’s designs, but as I pointed out above I’ve never so much as fired one up. I do have one, so maybe I’ll do that soon.

As per a PM conversation with another member who’s actively working on a MAX16820 based driver, a large electrolytic input cap may be required, air-wired above the rest of the driver.

I’m using an LFPAK33 mosfet to save space.

Except for very advanced builders the top will be reflow-only. This is due to the LFPAK33 MOSFET and the flat-no-leads package used for the MAX16820. The bottom can be easily hand soldered if desired.

Features:

• 1.0mm keepout around top edge.
  • 2.0mm component keepout around bottom edge, 1.0mm electrical keepout. 2.0mm exposed-non-GND copper keepout.
  • Powers MCU from MAX16820’s 5v output. (Not ideal for momentary setups.)
  • Offtime cap w/ pulldown resistor.
  • 1206 sized sense resistors.
  • 7x7mm SMD inductor w/ a little wiggle room for a larger part.
  • Large GND ring on bottom and on top (where possible). I forgot to expose any copper yet.
  • No reverse polarity protection. Does the MAX16820 need it?
  • Direct voltage divider, no diode to compensate for.
  • The exposed spring pad is 10mm. Total pour diameter is 11.5mm.
  • LED +/- pads are 2.5mm in diameter. They’re on much larger pours and diagonally across from one another. Very close to symmetrical.

v008 - OSH Park preview

v008 - gerv renders (click to enlarge)

Reserved.

Thanks wight for starting this. For those who wants to read. :slight_smile: