Flashlight Recommendation Needed - Underground Mine Use

I posted this awhile ago over on "another forum" (I know, please forgive me), and I pose the same question here (slightly edited from original).

I am curious to hear what flashlight you all might recommend for use working underground in a limestone mine. I work as a land surveyor, but don't do any underground surveying myself. I have co-workers that survey underground and have always struggled with lighting. Basically the mine is pitch black except for the lights they carry in and use and possible a nearby diesel pickup truck's headlights. The mines tend to have "corridors" about 40 feet wide, 25 feet tall, with crossing "corridors" about every 40 feet (think 40' x 40' grid pattern). Their sight lines tend to max out around 800 feet long, but most work is probably less than 400 feet. The walls are stone, so they are not reflective at all.

I've been working with one co-worker to set him up with some inexpensive practical lighting. Runtime and weight is important (well weight can't be excessive). They are already carrying quite a bit of gear so I don't want to load them down with a lot more. They also don't need bothered with swapping out batteries every couple hours as they are already in enough of a rush to get a day's work done. Swapping mid-day should be fine. I guess a runtime of 4 to 6 hours should do. We'd need a light with really good throw (and probably even good throw on a medium setting) and it doesn't have to have too much spill, although lighting up the full width of the 40 foot wide corridor would be nice. The target they need to light up stands about 5.5 feet tall. I figure they could use a "medium" setting the majority of the time and only use "high" for those occasional long shots.

Another thought would be an area light at the instrument man's tripod to light up his general area for taking notes, and seeing all around the instrument tripod. (Second light for this use is fine.)