FandyFire stl-v6 mod questions MT-G2

Is it possible to put a MT-G2 in my stl-v6. The light currently has a T6 in it and it looks tiny in there. I got amp readings of 1.5 so my other question is can I just drive it harder. It is a great light my best budget thrower but my M3X walks all over the fandyfire. I took the tail cap off of the light and got an amp reading by placing my clip on the battery and body. I am new to lights is this the correct method.
I assume I will need a new driver as well and if possible hi and low are all I need any guidance is greatly appreciated

I don't see why not.
The XM-L LED (T6 is just a bin number) looks small because it's designed to be a thrower, hence the large reflector.
'Upgrading' to a MT-G2 will increase your output, but probably significantly decrease throw. (Plenty of light, going absolutely everywhere)

The reading you are getting is probably because it's 2*18650 in series, so it's the same power (if not, more due to less voltage sag) as a single 18650 giving 3A.

Not sure if it's a proper buck driver sending 3A to the LED. If it is, it could be as easy as dropping in an MT-G2 copper board and drilling out the reflector to fit.

Is there another led I could use to make this light throw further I want to try and mod it to out perform my olight M3X. I don’t know what I am doing I saw the ratings on the MT-G2 and assumed it would improve the throw. I will post beam shots between the 2 tomorrow when I get to a computer. I have no idea how to upload pics from my phone

Upgrade it to an XM-L2 on copper and see if you can increase the current to 4+ amps at the emitter, that should get you a nice bump. The STL-V6 has a great reflector.

Ok I think this is the led

and this driver but it is only 3 amps

http://www.mtnelectronics.com/opencart/index.php?route=product/product&path=67&product_id=202

You may be able to resistor mod the original driver to put out that much, no new driver necessary.