First DIY pack for heated gloves

I’m a paraglider pilot and I’m using electric heated gloves. The problem is that the gloves barely last 1.5 hours on the highest setting, so I’d like to build a longer lasting pack.

The original pack is 7.4V 2200 mAh LiPo. My idea is to make DIY 2S1P 21700 Li-Ion packs and use them in place. The load is very easy, max 2A, continuous, smooth load.

I’m thinking about using the new high-capacity LG-INR21700-M58T cells, or Samsung INR21700-50E. I think they are ideal for low current usage.

Some things are still not clear though:

• Do I need to use a BMS with balancing functionality or I can use a simple one, like those thin rectangular ones?
  • Do I understand correctly that all BMS have a BM point for measuring the individual cell voltages, but only the more complicated ones balance the charging and discharging between the cells?
  • Do I need to use a balanced charger like, a B6 Mini, and solder balancing cables? As I see it, balancing cables are not very common on Li-Ion packs, while everyone uses them for LiPo packs, right?
  • Can I use the original CCCV charger? It has a Y cable so I believe it charges in parallel. It’s very low current, 1.2A for both batteries in parallel, but I’m only planning to charge overnight.
  • Do I need anything for building the pack, like those insulators and spacers? I bought a spot welder for this, so the welding should be straightforward, I just don’t know about the rest, such as spacers, insulators, etc.

1 Thank

Nice project man !

If it’s only a 2a load, why not use a 2s battery holder and remove them to charge?

I’d definitely like to have a BMS. First I don’t know if the glove has any kind of cut-off voltage, or it might just infinitely drain the batteries. The other reason is I’d like to have protection for anything which might possibly cause fire, for example short circuit.

What cells would you recommend:

• Samsung 50E
  • LG M58T
  • LiitoKala 50E