Gadgettown UltraFire 50mW laser

I ordered this http://www.gadgettown.com/50mW-532nm-Flashlight-Style-Green-Laser-Pointer-Pen-with-Clip-and-Free-Battery-HKE03431.html 50mW green laser from Gadgettown because it seemed like a pretty good deal at $22 and I had read on the laser forums that it was a good place to buy from. I am no laser expert. I just got a little interested in green lasers because I bought the DX branded 5mW laser pointer from DealExteme and was really amazed at the output. I figured if 5mW was good then 50mW had to be better and I was right. The output of green lasers is really something if you have never seen one or are more familiar with red lasers.

The buying experience was really well done. Paypal was the method I used and it went without a hitch. After the order I received all the proper notifications and received the item 15 days after I ordered it. Gadgettown is reported to have a US warehouse in NY that some items ship from but this item ships from Hongkong and that fact is clearly stated on the product page. The laser arrived packaged in a familiar yellow envelope and inside was a surprisingly nice foam lined white presentation box with a magnetic catch and gold embossed printing that said "GREEN LASER POINTER". The box is very suitable for gift giving. When I bought the laser it was listed as 50mW. The link I ordered from, listed above, still says 50mW in the link but specifies 100mW on the product page. It is also listed $4 cheaper. The laser I received has 100mW on the warning sticker. No documentation came with the laser. The output of these lasers is always in doubt much like the flashlight specs we all navigate our way through when dealing with the vendors we use. There are reports that the DX branded 5mW laser pointer put out 18 to 20mW. My observation of this laser is that it is a quite a bit brighter than the 5mW. Thats about a technical as I can get on the output and for an item like this and I believe it suffices.