G'day from Australia

Just a quick G’day here - I’m very new to flashlights and have started on the slippery slope already. I was after a good general purpose torch (I live on 28000 acres - nearest street lamp is 1.5 hours drive away) and joined the candlepower forum. I got some good advice there but after doing a lot of searching since have realised this forum is far more relevant to me.

Our only torch right now is a blocklite - one of those ones that clips to the front of a 9v battery, and a few long dead maglights - this is what put me off looking for a decent one for so long. I love them but they’re useless. Maybe one day I’ll mod them now I’ve found you can…

But in the meantime I’ve just ordered a grey L2P and .8-4.2v dropin from solarforce-sales. I’d never given modding/building one a thought before someone mentioned it on CPF. Now I’m wading into it fairly thoroughly I think! TO start with I’ll turn up an adaptor so I can run the L2P on one AA. Then sometime I’ll get an 18650 or two and charger to release the full potential of this and further drop ins (money is tight right now so Li Ions will come later).

Then I’m thinking of building an overdriven XP-G2 dropin and turning up a copper pill while using a copper star for the LED… Still researching this and this forum is amazing for that!

Welcome to the forums. Sounds like you are on the path of no return, just like the rest of us. Misery loves company.

Welcome!

Welcome to BLF wedgetail :slight_smile:

Hi and welcome wedgetail. Sounds like a nice place to get lost. At least you wont be bothering the neighbours with your lights. Looks like you need to add a large thrower to your list of wanted lights. Say hi to the Roos for us.

Welcome wedgetail!
The closest streetlamp to me is about 10 meters……
Happy modding! :beer: