I'm considering a zoomie for a work-EDC, looking for quality options

At work I currently carry an S41 quad in a holster on my belt, and before it I used P60 SolarForce lights for several years. I’m having a blast at home with my newly purchased and modded Brinyte B158 aspheric zoomie, and it makes me wonder if a smaller zoomie might work well as a work-EDC. I work in manufacturing and use my light frequently - with a zoomie I could potentially flood a vehicle’s engine compartment with light, or light up those racks/machinery on the other side of the (large) building when needed.

Requirements for this light would be:
1x18650 or 1x14500 format
Overall length no more than about 140mm
Head diameter no more than about 25mm

The SK68 and SK98 style zoomies I have experience with are not what I want to carry and rely on for an EDC, however. I’m looking for something that is of good quality - and has good output. :slight_smile:

Are there high-quality zoomies out there?

One that I’m looking at as a potential is the Fenix FD30. I wonder if Coast or LED Lenser lights could be modded into something that would work for me.

Any other contenders?

Hmmm… The Fenix is not a real zoomie i.m.o. and LedLenser and the like use crappy drivers and ancient LEDs for too much money (correct me if i’m wrong).
But the cheap zoomies usually also have crappy drivers and crappy LEDs.
They’re either one mode or 3 modes with PWM and next memory mode.
And it seems we’re stuck with those 23mm or 21mm lenses in a appr. 25mm diameter head.
It seems the slimmer ones all use a trimmed 23mm lens (they just grind off the outer perimeter).
It would be better if they used a trimmed 21mm one, but they don’t… (that is, i never seen one with that lens trimmed).

So, what to do?
I have one i quite like.