Is my charging setup safe?

Hi guys!

I am still quite new to 18650s, so I hope some “expert” might better enlighten me on safe charging practices for lithium cells

What I am now doing is:

1. I’ve gotten this rather big 11 gallon steel bin from IKEA.
  2. In this bin I put my charging setup, a Xtar SP2. A small copper shim with a K-type thermocouple bead soldered onto it is placed across the bodies of the cells during charging, and the shim is held in place using a small elastic band
  3. The thermocouple is then hooked up to a Extech 421509 data acquisition device with alarms set to go off when the shim reaches 40 degrees.

So far, it seems to be working fairly decently. If both cells get warm during charging, I catch it fairly early when they are both around 40 degrees each. If only a single cell warms up during charging, the buzzer will still go off, albeit somewhat later when the cells are close to 60 degrees. But either way, I do get some audible alerts warning me of hot cells.

My big concern though is: is temperature the only thing that I ought to be monitoring? Is it possible for a cell to “vent with flames” when it is completely cool to the touch at 35 degrees?

Looks like overkill to me. I mean, really, I wouldn’t trust that 11 gallon drum - IKEA?? You can’t be serious :wink:

Id call that “creativity” at its finest. Its all about having fun and enjoying the hobby. Lets face it… gadgets are fun. You can also use that thermocouple to gain precise temperature readings of components (such as heatsinks and emitter stars) with great precision… something IR devices dont do as well in environments containing several components with different temperatures in close proximity.

I charge my questionable cells on a long extension cord in the middle of my back yard. No foreworks yet… but Ive gotten rid of almost all of my cells labeled “made in China”.

It is made of “real” made in China steel :slight_smile: