Metal detectors, have you ever tried them?

Last weekend I had a chance to test one in old battlefields. Got lots of beeps but found only very small shrapnels.

This week my father needed one to seek for lost tractor part on fields. He also found tons of old tools and small parts from farm machinery.

We were thinking to do a small group-buy in our family and get one for our selves. These tested were borrowed.

I had some Garret, probably Ace 250.

I bet someone here has some serious gear and expertise.

I think we are planning to get some decent, not possibly the cheapest. Garrets were at around 250$. Is that good value or is the nest step already in thousands of bucks? (which I think is a bit too much).

No experience with one. The only time I see someone using one around here is creeping guys looking around parks and playgrounds. I am not saying you are or anything, just that I have no knowledge in this area. For you and your family it looks like you would have lots of use for one, so I would spend a bit more for a decent one. Good luck.

Ever see that metal detector show with some guy called randy savage? Maybe you’d be able to see what kind he uses, afterall…he is a professional.

American Diggers? I think most of the professional guys use homemade ones that are more sensitive, can't find any info on him though.

Huh, had no idea they did that. I suppose some welders do that, making their own rectifiers and whatnot.

I may be wrong though, I saw a different show "Meteorite Hunters" and they were using homemade ones.

I thought Randy Savage was a wrestler.

Haha, yeah he was. Now he goes around really old places, like prisons that were closed 50 years ago. And uses a metal detector to find artifacts that he sells.

I shoulda payed more attention to that show when I watched it a couple times.

Ooooohhh yeaaahhh snap into a slim jim

Randy Savage the ex-wrestler passed away last year so it can’t be the same guy unless of course the show is all re-runs.