so, how do your views change on what makes a light good?

Like anyone i guess, I only thought of reflector lights, thats all i knew. Really a 4-D maglite was “coolness” back then, i was a delivery driver.

then, i got into LED lights, lol… and after a couple small reflector LED lights? I found ZOOMIES. I instantly liked zoomies and they became my favorite for quite some time. I LIKE being able to not have a “flood” light AND a throwy reflectored light both, one decent zoomie can do the work of both.

As a delivery driver? even a comparatively SMALL zoomie, not even modded past “budget stock driver” was great. MUCH smaller package than the big maglites, i could zoom in to see a distant house number, and zoom OUT for walking dark paths and seeing around my delivery vehicle at night.

I liked zoomies so MUCH, they were all i looked at, i acquired several low budget zoomies… and i even got several of a 1504 group buy, i mean, if i like little ones? a couple BIG zoomies with some more juice would be even better. (they were, lol)

==

recently? i have started to get back into liking reflectored lights.

what people claim is my “802 variant light” (brinkman brand from tractor supply couple years ago) is pretty small and light. No zooming to mess with. single 18650, smaller head but with deep reflector. Throwy light, but, just enough spill for walking around and in rooms.

i was amazed with its “only on LOW mode” blown driver? that on 120ma, the deep reflector was still a “useful” around the room and yard light. Huh…so, it deserved a driver. Nothing major; i got a batter driver for one of my 1504 group buy lights, so, i recycled the driver from that to the 802-style light.

started carrying it on the house remodeling job i am on. Dark basement with the power off, getting in and out of the dark house with the lights not installed yet. Staying overnight on the work site. Big yard to scan too. I stayed overnight with this light, so, i got to put it thru its paces.