Soup can driver upgrade

Hi all, I’ve been lurking for a while but I need some help. I have a soup can light uses 4-18650’s. I want to replace the emitters and driver to make a high power flood. Originally I wanted to use a XHP70, but looks like getting 5A/6V is impossible from 3V. Now I’m thinking XHP50 3V version. As far as I can tell Mountain Electronics is the only supplier of 46mm driver boards (please let me know if I’m wrong). The SRK 32x 7135 Driver looks promising, its just enough amps to run two XHP50’s. But I’m not sure it will ever be in stock :(. The SRK V2 FET + 7135 Driver is in stock but I’m not sure exactly what it does. I’m a complete noob and dont fully understand FET means exactly. Would it work what I’m trying to do? Is there any other drivers that fit the bill? I appreciate any help. thanks :slight_smile:

Try diffusion film first, to see if that gets you a nice floody beam?

Lotta can-lights also have a side e-switch, which kinda marries it to a particular driver (mounting, satellite-boards, etc.).

Sofirn also makes a driver board for the Q8/-pro.

Swapping the emitters also means swapping the reflector as well, unless you want to make it a mule, in which you’ll no doubt need a spacer, too.

I’d try diffusion film, first. My Tacklife has a too-throwy beam for what I want in an around-the-house light, and all my LuxPro lights have nasty-ass G3s in ’em and correspondingly hideous beams. Slapping on some heavily-diffused diffusion-film worked nothing short of a miracle on each one of ’em. The Tacklife, especially, has a nice floody beam with zero “hotspot”, and fades nicely at the edges. Less-diffused film will just blur the hotspot. So you pick which kind you want, and just slap it on.