Thrunite T2 GT-FC40 swap question

Hello! First post here, been lurking a while. I’ve read about a few successful swaps of a GT FC40 into a Thrunite T2. I have a Convoy S11 that I’m willing to pull the GT-FC40 from and drop it into my T2. I’ve never done an emitter swap before, but I’m no stranger to working with electronics & soldering.

I haven’t seen an instance of this particular swap where someone has just swapped the entire MCPCB. They all appear to have reflowed the emitter. The Convoy S11 MCPCB is ever so slightly smaller than the T2’s stock MCPCB, but the screw holes appear to line up well enough to work. Is there an advantage to reflowing? Can the entire MCPCB just be swapped without causing harm?

Thanks!

I swapped a 4000k GT-FC40 into my blue T2. It was already soldered onto a mcpcb and I had no issues what so ever. The stock centering gasket worked as well.

Awesome, thanks for the quick response!

I 2nd what’s been said. I’ve done the swap. I forget if the bezel was glued. A heat gun and rubber gloves will help if it is.

Make sure your new solder blobs are low and will not contact the underside of the reflector.

This is a good option for a first-time emitter swap since there’s lots of room. Have fun!

Back with a little update. I successfully swapped a 5000k-5500k GT FC40 into my T2! Since then, this has become my favorite light by far. Nice even, neutral tint compared to the original emitter. Couple of quirks now:

1. This emitter seems to gets much hotter than the XHP70.2. I don’t have any tools to measure accurately, but it’s noticeably hotter. Totally fine in low & medium (where I use it most) but it gets hot in high, and uncomfortably hot in turbo.

2. I can’t measure it, but it’s definitely not as bright as before. It’s a welcome trade-off for the much improved tint, so it doesn’t bug me. It’s still extremely bright!