Two XM-L2 T6 3C - large tint difference?

Hi,

I just received two XM-L2 T6 3C (5000K) emitters, from the same vendor, in the same shipment, and reflowed them into two lights (very similar models from the same vendor), and it seems like the tint between the 2 lights now is hugely different. I’m not a tint expert, but one is very nice, just slightly warmer than what I’d call a cool white, and the other is much, much warmer, almost a green tint.

As I said, I’m not a tint expert, and I normally don’t pay much attention to tint, but after I did the 2 reflows, and check the beams side-by-side, the tint difference is very noticeable.

I know that within a bin, there are slight differences, but should the tint difference between two emitters with the same bin be that different?

I would take some pics, but I’m not sure if I’d know how to setup the camera to show the tint difference….

Thanks,
Jim

Same driver? Same current? Same reflector? Same glass lens?

Were they both in a single piece of cut tape, or separate?

Hi,

Yes, pretty much.

The 2 lights were a Niteye MSC10 and MSA10, with a 16340 and 14500 in them, respectively. These lights are pretty much the same (lens, reflector, driver, star), but with different bodies. Also, I switched the heads, and the tints followed the heads.

EDIT: These were the lights I mentioned here: Anyone disassembled Niteye MSA20?

They were in a single piece of cut tape (just 2 emitters) and the tape seemed to be sealed when I got it.

Too much heat for too long can sometimes lift the dome off the die, and it still looks normal from the outside. But it will drastically affect the tint.

Could be the luck of the tint lottery. I installed an XP-E2 in a C8, and it’s the greenest tint I’ve ever seen. I just got another of the exact same XP-E2, and will install it in the same light to see if its any better. If it’s green also, I’ll try it with a different reflector. If that doesn’t work, I’ll give up.