What did you recently fix for the very first time and may have used a DIY video?

YouTube is an amazing resource. There are so many handy reviews there as well as instructional videos. I can’t count how many times I’ve relied upon those videos to fix something that went wrong. Of course, there will be crappy videos, and even misleading ones. Sometimes a person creates a video for fixing something and leaves out a critical part, or has you go down a path that increases risk of breakage… or, even ends up being about a different model that has a slightly different order of assembly.

Anything you recently fixed using a YouTube video, or videos?

For me, it was a Braun electric shaver. I’ve been using them for several decades. With each model, things got better. More useful design. More powerful motor. More solid build. But like most electronics, there’s never total perfection. My Series-7 is a terrific shaver in almost every respect. The only thing I’ve always felt a little uneasy about is the trimmer. It is a good one, very strong, very useful. But Braun changed things from the previous model series, where the trimmer had been sliding component, instead of pivoting, and very robust in either running or off position. The Series-7 changed it whereby the trimmer would flip up on a small panel to extend the “trim teeth” further out from the shaver. It’s a minor advantage. I would have preferred if they kept the older design. Anyway, the trimmer being a moving part on a plastic frame with pivoting parts means it’s vulnerable to damage or disrepair. But the most common problem is that the two ends of internal springs can be, over time, coaxed out of their anchors… and the result is that the trimmer panel won’t rest fully flush to the body when retracted. The video I found did a pretty good job of describing how to fix this part. It’s not perfect and there are portions where the person moves the shaver out of view, causing the viewer to miss some details… and some things are