Battery sizes

I’m new at this so please be kind…. I have 5ea 18650 flashlights, mostly clones. I ordered 4ea. Samsung ICR18650-30B batteries, they are too big to fit in one light, 3 others the light comes on but will not change modes. When I put the smaller UltraFires in they work perfectly. My question is when I reorder how can I tell if they will fit all my lights? I thought 18650’s are all the same size Maybe if you could just tell me which ones to buy I will order them.

Thanks in advance,
Bob

The protected batteries are longer. You may need to buy unprotected cells to fit your torch.

Ok, can you tell me a make and model of a good unprotected battery that will fit in all my lights? I have already spent $26 on the wrong batteries, I don’t want to make that mistake again.

Make sure it’s a button top, as flat tops may not work in your light.

Use the batteries you have now by slightly boring the battery tubes of the lights they won’t fit. Pretty easy to use a wooden dowel, saw a groove into one end about an inch or even two deep. Use this groove to start a piece of sandpaper and then turn the paper around and around til you get the appropriate size you need to fit snugly in the tube. Use a drill to turn the dowel thereby reaming out the battery tube. A grit of 220 should be sufficient to take a small amount of aluminum out of the tube allowing the batteries to fit. Simply remove the device and check the battery, rinse and repeat til you’re satisfied. Extra space can be taken up with masking tape between the layers of sandpaper to keep the fit tight as you proceed.

Enjoy!

Worked like a champ… This is why I asked the professionals. I hope I’ll be able to help someone one day.

Glad it worked for you. Sometimes problems are simple to solve. The age old question “Honey, do these pants make my butt look big?” now that’s a whole nother story! :wink:

Dale

That was a width fix only…. but I’m very happy with that, not the length.