Acebeam E70 Battery is getting hot and blinking blue

Hi all,
this is my first time posting here.

I own a E70 for about a year now and use the Acebeam IMR21700NP-510A TYPE-C Battery.
After charging it today, i noticed that the charging LED was flashing blue and the plus pole was burning hot.

So i put it aside to let it cool down, after one hour it still is so hot that you can only touch it for a couple of seconds.
Only the plus pole is hot the rest is only slightly warm.

The acebeam website only states “Charge State Indicator: Charging-Red LED; Full charged-Green LED” but nothing about blinking blue.
Has anybody else had this problem?

Burning hot” and “after one hour it still is so hot that you can only touch it for a couple of seconds” is not what you want to hear when it comes to LiIon cells. Remove the cell from your home right now and put it somewhere where it cannot start a fire (bucket of sand etc).

It’s very likely defective (internal short) and a fire/explosion hazard now. Do not charge or use again!

1 Thank

Definitely not normal, and yeah, put it outside in open air on something not flammable. I’d contact Acebeam and share that Flir photo…maybe a photo of the battery in a safe bucket of sand, too…kinda doubful that they will replace it (everyone balks at consumables) but maybe they’ll take care of you.

Has the battery ever been dropped, or had the + terminal crushed in a little bit? The charging/protection circuit board that is tacked onto the top of the cell is semi-fragile and it’s not too hard to damage them…dunno if rough port handling could cause an issue something…could just be a defective board that finally gave out. The blue light may mean something to them so be sure to mention that. I only have a couple of usb cells like that and thus far just normal operation although I don’t use them much at all.