Aluminum-Ion batteries

They are supposed to be a breakthrough.

Looks good but Aluminum-ion batteries run at 2 volts while giving us just over 2.5 times the energy density.

<yawn/>

All these new battery chemistries that never end up seeing the light of day have me rather jaded.

This and the new “Jesus battery” (quantum glass) are just the 2 latest.

I’ll believe it when I see it. Just call me Thomas…

My day job is battery research, and has been for 6 or 7 years now. I can say that there are lies, then there are lies in the battery industry. Nearly every breakthrough idea I’ve seen in the last 5yrs has fell on it’s face. Not necessarily always due to the function of the base chemistry (though usually), but then it’s a major issue of cost, scalability, or manufacturability. This nano-tech stuff is all super promising in a coin cell, but I’ll believe in it when I see 18650s or pouches rolling off a production line and still performing. Not many people understand the challenges of that second part. People in my lab, including myself, can make coin cells all day with novel electrodes or electrolytes or processes that work great in some way or another, but not many have a snowballs chance in hell at being commercially successful.

I’ll be hopeful and invested in alternatives to organic fluorinated electrolyte lithium based batteries, because one thing I’m sure of is that they are not the answer to the ‘green future’. The metals mining and limited recyclability of these cells is a serious environmental issue as is. Going all in on electrification right now is a major mistake.

Yeh, like mining of Li in… I think it was Nevada… was stopped dead in its tracks because someone found a patch of endangered buckwheat. :person_facepalming:

Meanwhile, China is scooping up all the Li it can carry away from Bolivia, because they could give 2 sheets about buckwheat and just want the pesos instead.