Circuit design help to add reverse polarity protection?

Hi all,

I have a baby monitor system that’s about a year old. The battery is junk so I replaced it with two unprotected 26650s in a holder piggybacked on the device. I just realized that if my wife or I accidentally insert a battery, the device will fry as it was designed with a non-removable cell in mind.
Circuit draws 150mA on standby, ~350mA with the screen on and low brightness, ~550mA high brightness.

Problems:
I have some electrical and soldering experience, but I am not an Electrical Engineer.
The monitor goes into LVP at !!!! so a standard diode would probably be too much voltage drop.
LVP with these cells is about 45% capacity remaining, so I’m looking for ways to “fix” this.
I do not know if this system can run on 5v, as it won’t power on with just USB power.

Possible solutions for RPP:
Schottky diode?
P-Mosfet circuit (I have no idea how this would work/what to get)

Possible solutions to LVP capacity issue:
Boost to 5V, buck back down to 4.0 - seems wasteful, but would work.

Yes a PFET, drain to batt, gate to batt- , source to load.

Edit: using a NFET on the minus side will work too and will be cheaper. Drain to batt- gate to batt+ , source to load-

I appreciate the info! That design seems simple to implement with the proper parts.

Do you by chance have a NFET part number I should look for? I know very little about transistors or what ratings mean for them.

I guess you’d want a through hole one for soldering wires directly on it. For a 0.1V drop at 0.55A would be 0.1/0.55= 0.18Ω, but since you’re short on voltage you might want even lower drop, says <0.1Ω

Here is a Mouser search
Nch, through hole, Id>0.7A, <0.1Ω, Vgs th <1.5V