Concerns about Convoy's quality control and suggestions for improvement

I had posted on reddit, but I didn’t want it to be taken the wrong way so I deleted it. A forum is more suited for discussion anyway.

I’ve been selling Convoy for 7+ years and since Covid the quality control has been getting worse and worse. This thread is about bringing these things to Simon’s attention and to hopefully provide a solution together as a community.

This is a list of issues that I find regularly:

• Flux splashes on LEDs
  • Screws missing from mcpcb
  • Screws left loose to try center the LEDs with round gaskets
  • LEDs off center with round gaskets
  • Dusty reflectors / lens
  • S2 UV ships without a gasket causing bad focus, short circuit risk (S2+ UV is fine)
  • Remote switches with poor soldering and cold joints (not always, but encounter often)
  • Getian GT Red & Green badly over driven (more on this below)
  • L21B new batch with Osram LEDs out of focus
  • Batch inconsistencies concerning the focus
  • 3X21C/D with sharp cell slots shredding wraps (I sand every unit)
  • Buck/boost driver issues (fixed, but old batch still shipping)

The Getian GT Red and Green are paired with 8A drivers. I measured the lumens for both at 4A & 8A to find at 8A the output is less than at 4A. Simon said they won’t burn out until 9.5A, but I want max output at that sweet spot, not LEDs being over driven and shortening their life. The datasheet doesn’t show any max current, but it’s certainly not happy with 8A.