Do you use a MAC or a PC and why

I use a PC only because I have been using them since 1985. I tried to use the Apple ecosystem some time ago and I sound it awkward.

2 Thanks

First PC around 1984-85. Memory 512kb, no HD, two 5ÂĽ" 180kb floppy drives, DOS 2.11
Today 16 GB memory, 512 GB Micron SSD, Win 11

EDIT: Never felt the urge to switch to Mac, especially not after reading Steve Jobs bio (!@#$%).
Considering to move over to a Unix type of OS (MS is behaving as bad as FB or Goggle)

1 Thank

I have only owned PCs, but I have used Macs in high school.
Many PCs offer more bang for your buck than any Mac available, which is why I prefer PCs.
Also, there is more software to choose from for PCs than Macs.

EDIT:
Actually, my first computer was a Commodore 64.
I don’t think it’s considered a traditional “PC” because it isn’t an IBM compatible system.

1 Thank

PC, largely out of inertia and cost.

1 Thank

PCs since the 8088. Repair-ability and open hardware. Plus network environs - Novell - Token Ring (who misses T-R?).
Was a Microsoft OEM in the 8086 to Win XP days.
Been building systems since DOS 2.
Old Microsoft saying:
DOS isn’t done till LOTUS don’t run…
All the Best,
Jeff

Macs are fine machines, especially the new M2 machines. But way overpriced, both for hardware and equivalent software. And yes, you are stuck in the Apple ecosystem. Real difficult to design and build a system with Mac hardware. Which is always what I have done for my machines…
You can still get much more bang for the buck with an Intel/AMD based system. I have both Linux and Windows based systems. Linux for sort of system based background tasks. My everyday driver stuff is still Windows. Maybe because by banging my head against it for all of these years, it is just easier to use. Would love it if Windows wasn’t so full of extraneous crap and what is basically spyware, but that is mostly fixable. At least we are still able to do that. Unfortunate that it takes so much time and effort.