Does this look like a genuine XM-L2 LED flashlight?

Hi everyone! new to the forums, so I hope I’m posting this in the right section and is not some stupid question or something.

Well, I have a road bike and I ride at night fairly often, so I bought this flashlight

Ultrafire E17 XM-L2

I’m a complete noob when it comes to flashlights, and this one is bright enough and stuff, but I did some googling after buying it just to find out that there are many counterfeit Cree leds from China.

Just out of curiosity, do you think this is a genuine Cree XM-L2?

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19353176/xm-l2.jpg

Excuse the poor quality of the pic, hope it’s good enough to at least draw some conclusions

I also run a lux test with a friend’s meter (an el cheapo HS1010, so might not be relevant) after removing the lens so that I’m measuring the led’s direct output.

At 1 meter distance I measured some 105 lux. The flashlight runs at 1A on high with a 3.7V 18650 battery. According to the Cree specs, that should translate to some 460 lumens.

Ok so I used this website:

http://www.ledrise.com/shop_content.php?coID=19

Going by Cree’s specs, an XM-L2 should throw at a 125º angle, so at 1m, 125º and 105 lux, no optics involved, the result is about 350 lumens, which seems a bit low

Fake LED?

Fake LED or not, that flashlight is not worth $8.40, for a few bucks more you can get a much better light with genuine CREE LED and a proper driver. Convoy S2+ and convoy C8 for example.

Very hard to determine from your picture but that mcpcb seems to be the same ones used to host LB leds.

If you want a better light for your bike just tell us your budget so we can help you out.

Welcome to BLF!

Thanks Will, much appreciated!

I guess I got bit by the flashlight bug LOL. Having a backup light seems good enough an excuse to get a “proper” one, haha, if only to figure out what an actual Cree LED looks like