Got hands on 9 18650's from a laptop battery

Heyo, i’m new to all this but hope someone could help me out.

I got my hands on 9 18650’s from a dell laptop battery that was defunct. They are LG LGABD11865’s from what i’ve found out from the markings, pink wrap on them.

Had a cheapo charger that i bought arrive today, one of those UltraFire 3.7v ‘rapid’ chargers, i’ve had two of the cells charging in it for over 6 hours now and am a bit cautious of it all. The LEDs on the charger have stayed red all the time.

Is it usual for the charging to take this long? Are the cells dead? Should i try cycle them around until i find some cells that want to charge? Is the charger just useless?

Cheers for any help, much appreciated

What's the voltage?

It depends how fast your charger is charging and of which capacity the batteries are. Do you have a multimeter to check the battery voltage?
Welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

Unsure about the voltage of the batteries, can get my hands on a multimeter tomorrow.

What will i be looking for when i do?

Cheers

Full cells should have a voltage of 4.20v +–0,05V if the charger is any good. If they are over 4,25V then they are being overcharged and that isn’t good for the cells life.

Stop charging until you get that multimeter. The most basic multimeter will do. Ideally it shouldn't be more than 4.2V, but a couple hundredths more isn't that bad. Six hours might be okay if those cells were totally dead and you're using a slower WF-139, but it's a really good idea to use a multimeter when you first get a charger to make sure it's working correctly.

I’m not an expert but here’s my two cents. I make no guarantees to the accuracy of this information

For the sake of math, let’s play around with a little example: