HELP: Want to mod some AA lanterns

Hey all, so I’ve been throwing this idea around in my head for a while now and I wanted to ask some of the gurus out there for your advice/opinion. I’m relatively new to the modding world, but have been around flashlights and lion batteries for a while now.

Anyway. I want to mod some cheap 3AA lanterns with some higher powered warmer LEDs for backpacking. Doesn’t have to be super powerful, just want about 100 lumens or so for 3-4hrs. Here are my thoughts:

I want to use this:

And drop in a warm or neutral white LED into it such as this:

I’ve done some searching about modding lanterns and got a few good hits but nothing that really addresses what i’m looking for. My questions are:

1) Can I just rip out the LEDs that are currently in the light and use the same wires to wire up the LED star?
2) Do I need a pill and driver for this LED (super n00b question I know)?
3) Will 3AA’s give enough power to the LED?
4) Do I need optics (I really just want a lot of flood)?
5) Will this blow up in my hands?

References: 3AA lantern modded to warm white (big pictures)

thanks everyone!

1) yes

2) if you want decent runtime out of 3x AA I’d recommend a single mode 350mA AMC7135 driver like this from Kaidomain or something similar. You’ll also need to mount the LED to a piece of aluminium to dissipate the heat.

3) should be ok at low drive current, hopefully others will chime in

4) I would go for something to diffuse the light instead (translucent plastic of some sort) as bare LEDs are very glarey and by diffusing it you’ll make it look “bigger”

5) unlikely, it hasn’t killed me yet and I’m a prime candidate for stuff blowing up in my hands!

Here’s the lantern I modded out of a Coleman 4D lantern, soon to get a Nichia 219 in it (to replace the yucky XP-G cool white):

not quite what you’re after as I only really go car camping and it’d be too big for back packing, but you get the idea :slight_smile: