Is the very good Manafont Ultrafire XM-L drop-in no longer available as it was?

I’m a newbie flashlight buyer, did my research, choose Solarforce L2P, and L2M hosts and the highly liked Manafont XM-L dropins:

[SKU:6802] 1 x Ultrafire XM-L T6 5-Mode Memory LED Drop-in Module w/ Extra OP Reflector (4.2V max) = $17.41
[SKU:5720] 1 x Ultrafire Cree T6 3-Mode Memory LED Drop-in Module (4.2V max) = $15.98

I like the 3 mode since I’m guessing I’ll find the strobe and SOS uninteresting. But recent comments since Feb suggest it’s not the great light it was:

Manafont Verified Product Owner Gx Houxxxxx 3 of 5 Stars (on Saturday 23 March, 2013) Arrived fairly quickly, well packaged, in good working order. This SKU seems to be no longer what it once was…. I’m guessing the driver has been changed. Bring back the BANG!!!

Manafont Verified Product Owner Raxx Bürxxx 2 of 5 Stars (on Wednesday 06 March, 2013) well made, doesnt heat up too fast not really bright! draws only 1,5 A on high. very dissapointed, far away from 3 Amps or 900 lumen! seems that the drop in isnt the same as in the other comments

Manafont Verified Product Owner Jöxx Pöxx 2 of 5 Stars (on Tuesday 26 February, 2013) heated barely. highest level is not a problem not as bright i had expected all of my other xml-T6 are much brighter nothing else, all is said

Does anyone know if this isn’t available anymore? Or elsewhere? Is something else better?
I liked the idea of 3-mode, guessing the strobe and SOS would not be helpful/interesting. My first go at all this though, so IDK.

Allan

Hi Allan, welcome to BLF! I bought that same drop-in about year ago and mine is driven hard. Could have changed since then. Sounds likely to be different (& lousy) but could be a chance for a good one.