LaserLight SMD by SLD Laser

I have no idea where and when it will be sold, but I asked and received a (fairly limited) datasheet, and must say that looks quite perfect. The partnr. is 910-00003

I’m reluctant to reproduce images from the datasheet, no idea about copyrights, but here’s some data on the new component:

*it is a 7x7mm SMD component of 2.6mm height that contains the complete package: laser plus phosfor plus inbuild safety. In fact it is pictured on a standard size 20mm star than can be ordered with the component reflowed on it (910-00004). There have been drawings of this component before but it seems an actual product now.

*Voltage 8.7 V, current 1.65 A, sounds like completely compatible with flashlights. Perhaps it needs a carefully designed driver, I’m not an expert but from what I gathered, lasers are more finicky than leds.

*output 450 lm of 6000K 70CRI white light, from a 0.35 x 0.35 mm emitting surface, so 0.122mm2. Sounds like comparable with the LEP-lasers used by Acebeam, Maxtoch and Weltool.

*max operating temperature 50 degC. It is a laser so must be cooled well!

This thing is more versatile than the LEP-modules currently used because you can use it in a common reflector if you like. You could even make it an aspheric with wavien collar.

Let’s see if this makes it into a flashlight soon :slight_smile:

1 Thank

I love when you say I’m no expert. In my eyes you kindof are. Lol…eitherway, LEP is some cool stuff and thanks for sharing :slight_smile:

450Lm with 70CRI out of 14,4W - that is Year 2000 efficiency of LEDs :smiley:
Yes, I understand, DIE-area is super small, but nevertheless this is pretty much just pre-pre-alpha

Yes, my first 70CRI Rebels from back in 2009 were 60lm/W, this is half of that :smiley:

You’re on the right track. Im looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

Then again, 450lm out of a die size 1/8th the area of the White Flat? :open_mouth:

Yep, that is the selling point :open_mouth: