Lovin the New Site Format

Since the site was switched to the new format I’m visiting everyday!

I know it’s a big change for some but it’s a very welcome change for me.

Full disclosure: It does help that I have several years experience with this format, from the App Inventor Communities.

10 Thanks

Great to hear! Thanks a lot for saying so.

4 Thanks

I like it, too.
At first, I didn’t like it, and complained about every little thing (usually via PM to a friend).
Now I’m used to Discourse, and think it was a good choice. :+1:

4 Thanks

Yeah, it’s growing on me.

1 Thank

I remember suggesting XenForo for forum software because I like it, and XF is a more traditional forum software.
The problem is that XF is not open source.
Honestly, Discourse works fine for me.
I didn’t like the “forever scrolling” of Discourse at first, but it’s not a problem for me anymore. :upside_down_face:

2 Thanks

I like the new site much better than the old site, because the muting feature means I dont have to read about bidets anymore… lol

one small feature, that I wish was not here on the new site,
that was also on the old site:

Editing a post, makes it go to the top of recent posts, as if it was a new post.

I would prefer that edits did not get promoted like a new post

4 Thanks

Admins can “Reset Bump Date” via the Anchor icon but it’s a manual process.

3 Thanks

It was like a train wreck. :grinning:

1 Thank

My interest in BLF was fading. I think my interest in flashlights was not as strong as before.
So with this new format, I will probably be visiting BLF very seldom in the future.

I actually already forgot about the old format. New one works and has more modern look and feel.

4 Thanks

It’s great and improving with the tweaks, thank you @sb56637 for all your work.

3 Thanks

I went from extreme
dislike to like in about 10 logins.

5 Thanks

This is my first time using the new site. Bit of a shock but so far I have a favorable opinion.

1 Thank