miniature UV flashlight powered by smartphone

Hello, I'm a newbie on this forum. So first of all let me briefly introduce myself - i'm a ukrainian DIY hobbyist and while my main interest is audio (see my signature) I'd like to build a bit unusual UV flashlight.

From time to time I need UV flashlight. It should be very small, even smaller then usual keychain flashlight yet much more powerful then something like nitecore tube UV (this toy has usable range of 2 inches lol).
So I've decided to build a small uv flashlight without battery inside and use a smartphone as a power source. Please take a look what I've built:

And attached to smartphone:

Small animations to show what this flashlight is capable of:

What do you think about such idea and it's implementation?

Any suggestions?

wow - you built this? It looks amazing. great craftsmanship and design. Do you know the wavelength of the LED?

thanks.

Welcome to BLF, Garuspik.

That is a goodlooking gadget, nice.

A few remarks:

1. why does it have a battery if it is powered from a phone? It could perhaps be made smaller without battery
  2. which led do you use and how much current is it getting? If it is a 365nm led, the fluorescence performance will improve a lot if you add a UV-pass filter before the led (like a ZWB2 filter), that filters out any visible stray light.
  3. personally I prefer a separate UV-light with a battery, I have built many UV-flashlights and the smaller 10440-powered ones run at 500mA and are not much larger than your device and handier in use I think. But you are right that what you made is much more powerful than the Nitecore Tube-UV bacause that uses a very low-power 5mm led

Binford - yes, I’ve built this. 3d printed enclosure + sandblasting + matte paint + lacquer. And laser cutted aluminium faceplate. I use 365 nm led.

Thanks!

I’m trying to make good looking things :wink: