New Convoy S2 build

Hey everyone,

This is my first post, and this is my first build, so any advice would be great. I just ordered the following components from mtnelectronics.com:

Host: CONVOY S2

LED: CREE XP-G3 S5 3C LED on Noctigon 16mm MCPCB

Driver: QLITE REV.A 7135*8 3.04A LED DRIVER - 17mm

• Alternate Firmware: Flash guppydrv Universal

Battery: Panasonic NCR18650PF Protected 2900mAh

Others: 20mm AR Coated Glass Lens.

I am excited to get started. Hopefully it should be a pretty nice EDC light. Feel free to point out any issues/flaws you may see with what I am using, or any advice for the actual build itself.

Thanks!
Steve

Unno, I think an XM-L2 would be more efficient, especially at 3A. You’re dealing with an OP reflector, so it’ll be “smeared” somewhat anyway, and you’re not dealing with a thrower where a smaller chip would be a benefit.

Other than that, sounds good.

Would go XPL V6-3D, XP-L2 V6-3B or XML U3-3D

I got an Eagle Eye with OP reflector and micro textured lens with xpl V6-3D, runs only on 1.6A CC but great light to be in my car with white and red diffusors

Correct me if I’m wrong (again, very new to this) but according to a review that was done by djozz on the XP-G3 shows approx ~1120lm at 3A. From what I’ve found, its comparable to the XM-L2 at 3A. The XP-G3 shows 3.25V going to the led at 3A, and the XM-L2 shows 3.2-3.4V to the led at 3A. These stats seem too close to see with the naked eye, and the XM-L2 was 1. Out of stock and 2 almost twice the price.

Again, I am new, so if I am completely overlooking something on this please teach me!

Looks like you have done the research, sounds good to me. Good luck on the build!

Not going to lie, I partly wanted to try out the “newest” cree :wink:

I don’t want to rain in your parade, but I’m not a big fan of the XP-G3 emitters. There tends to be a big “tint shift” between the hotspot and the spill. We all have different preferences, so you might not mind.