Review of X-tronic 8050-XTS soldering station. My first video!

Guys and Gals, this is my second X-tronic soldering iron. The first was the 4040 and I like it for it’s size and features. The 4040 is a 60 watt iron and I wanted just a little more power!!! The 8050-XTS is a 70 watt iron, I did say 75 in the video, oops.

Please let me know how good or bad this video looks. This is my first attempt at a video. Shot with a Panasonic G5 as an MP4.

Enough of that, off to the video!

Nice video! Crisp and clear, subbed!
Does this station heat up so fast?
Amazing
Nice features

Yes, it does heat up that fast. I intend to get a little use time and post a follow up video. It is not that much different from the cheaper Chinese units, but the fact that it is 70 watts, has autosleep, heats very quickly, uses Hakko tips and has a couple of extra features makes it for me. This is my second iron from them and I am very happy with both. Jim at the Mercantile Exchange has them built overseas, but add some extra features that I appreciate. I will likely end up with their hot air reflow unit at some point.

That was my first YouTube video ever, my 14 yo daughter was just ecstatic that her 51 yo Dad was doing a video. She thought I was crazy!

Matt

Love the new addition Matt. Thanks for the review. Your daughter has every reason to be proud of her dad. :+1:

Now i know what Santa does with his downtime, Ho Ho Ho

Nice Review :)

John.

I'm looking to buy a new soldering station, Matt. I found your review here in the forum.

What's your unbiased thoughts of this particular one, being your second from the manufacturer?

I'm watching your video now, and am liking the package contents. The magnified light stand is a must have.

Great review Matt. Looks like a really nice unit. Does the display show real time temp while you’re soldering? My Weller WESD51 does, while my Hakko FX888D doesn’t.