[Review] XTAR VC8S – Li-ion/NiMH charger with eight slots and many features

With a lot of flashlights you’ll also end up with a lot of batteries. Whether you simply want to charge them or maybe prepare them for storage, you’ll need the right tool to do the job: a good charger.

Here I will show you the new XTAR VC8S, a charger with eight slots, support for Li-ion and NiMH batteries with several helpful functions.

You can find the German version of this review on my website: SammysHP Blog › XTAR VC8S Ladegerät

The charger was provided by XTAR for this review, without any obligations. Thank you very much!

About my measurements

Just to make it clear: I’m a hobbyist with some knowledge of electronics and a selection of tools and lab devices to do some measurements. Those are not professional lab measurements in a controlled environment.

Specifically I used two inexpensive multimeters with Bluetooth capability for most of my measurements. One to measure the voltage of the battery, another to measure the current via a DIY current shunt (with components I had in my storage – two 0.1 Ω 10 W resistors in parallel). Also the measurements here are just samples and could vary from other tests.

Overview and specifications

The device I received was an early model from a prototype batch, which arrived without official packaging nor a manual. XTAR was still working on the manual and sent it to me as a PDF file. I also got an XTAR 45 W USB-PD power supply, which is available as an optional accessory.

The case of the charger feels very solid. It has a size of 210 × 152 × 39 mm and a weight of 455 g – so not a compact travel charger at all.

On the backside you’ll find a USB-C port for power input. While it works with any USB power supply, you’ll get the full performance only with a 45 W USB-PD power supply. Otherwise the maximum current is limited.

Power supply Maximum charge current
5 V / 2 A
(10 W)
1x 2000 mA
2x 1000 mA
4x 500 mA
8x 250 mA
9 V / 2 A
(18 W)
1x 3000 mA