Ridgid R8691 18V dual-mode flashlight mod/repair

Hi all,

I am a relative noob to LED flashlights, and LEDs in general for that matter, so I’m hoping someone here can help me out. I have a Ridgid R8691 18V dual-mode flashlight that recently stopped working. I took the flashlight apart to check on a bulb replacement, and there is an LED/PCB soldered in place. I checked, and there is 18V across the +/- leads soldered to the PCB. The flashlight is about 4 years old now, and I had it on when it just shut off. I was able to get it to come on inconsistently by cycling the power button, but before long it would no longer work at all. I contacted Ridgid, and unfortunately, they said there is no replacement part, and the light has to be thrown away. That seems really stupid to me, and I really like this light since it works on the same battery as all my power tools, and can be used in either spotlight or lamp mode, which is really nice for working on automobiles and such.

So, I’m looking to find a replacement LED for this unit. The PCB has the following numbers on it, none of which I was able to use to turn up anything useful, perhaps due to my ignorance on the subject. The numbers are as follows:

77-187-J01RA11
94V0
E230194
HX-008

The PCB itself is a thin rectangle of dimensions 34mm long x 6 mm wide, with a circular flared portion in the center flaring out to around 11 mm or so. These dimensions are somewhat critical to respect, since in order for the dual-mode function to work properly, the PCB has to be able to be rotated around freely, in order to face towards either the spotlight or the lamp side. There is a keyhole clearance in the spotlight & lamp lenses of the unit of dimensions approximately 8 mm high x 12 mm wide to allow for this rotation and LED light direction. I am including a link here to some pictures that should make things clearer: