What difference does de-doming MT-G2 make?

I’m getting my nerve up to do a mod of a cheapie Harbor Freight “25 Million Candlepower” spotlight for my father-in-law. It has a dual-filament halogen bulb that really isn’t very bright. I was thinking of using an MT-G2. I see that James3 has some MT-G2 on Noctigon which he has de-domed, and he just lowered the price on them. But, he’s in the UK and even the cheapest shipping method makes his product higher priced by a few dollars than a not de-domed MT-G2 from RMM. I’m prepared to pay the price difference if de-doming is going to help me get the most from the emitter in this spotlight. I’m certainly not gonna try to de-dome it myself. The light has a reflector that is about 8” wide but not very deep (I didn’t measure, but I think it is around three inches). I know the reason we de-dome emitters is to get more throw, and that is exactly what I’m going for. But, I have no experience with MT-G2’s at all and really I don’t understand how (or if) the de-doming changes the emission angle of the emitter. The spotlight is about the same size as the one in grantman321’s thread here, but of course Harbor Freight quality level. So help me understand. Will a de-domed MT-G2 give me more throw from this spotlight than an MT-G2 with the dome on?

i personally have never seen a successful dedome of an mt-g2.

Dedoming an MT-G2 works best when you slice the dome off with a scapel, don’t try to soak it in gas or anything.
Most peaple use a spacer ring (washer) to get a propper hight.

Dedoming makes a huge difference in throw, tint, and CRI. Check this out for some measurements by BLF members. So far I have ended up dedoming every MT-G2 I have put in a light. The tint and CRI just seem blah with that giant bubble of silicone there.