Why do Green LEDs throw farther than White LEDs?

I was watching the new Acebeam L19 specs and I noticed that the green LED option has a higher throw number than white.

Then I noticed this with their other flashlights as well.

How come?

Green = 1520 meters

White = 1300 meters

I am no expert but I believe the wave lenght of green light carries more energy and therefore shines further. I think red light has the most energy but takes to much energy to convert or something.

hmmm.... interesting....

I know our eyes are more sensitve to green light than any other color and will always appear brighter for the same lumen count. the Higher in frequency the light is the more energy per photon it has, red would have the least in this case. But in reds defence it Should be able to travel furthest in an atmosphere because it`s longer wavelength will make it less Likely to encounter particles in the air than something Higher in frequency like Blue for instance, that`s why lower color temps work best in fog.

1 Thank

Nope.

The shorter the wavelength, the more the energy that light carries.

In a white LED (should it be more or less perfectly white), a considerable portion of light is emitted at those wavelengths, where human eye is less sensitive. If a LED emits its most light near the wavelength where human vision is most sensitive, then it can be more efficient.

Use the left function for the scotopic vision (where it is not enough light to get response from the color sensitive cells in the retina), and the right function for the photopic vision (color is perceived).

Maybe someone with more knowledge can jump in. I did read a artical once about that green cars are less likely to have an accident because of how the human eye is more sensitive to green.

But the throw of the light is meisured with a digital meter and not with human eye right.

Why does the higher luminous flux in the same die and same package throw further? :open_mouth: