Why would I need an EDC light? Convince me.

I'm intrigued by all the threads on the Tank 007, DQG III, etc. I read up on the lights and try to justify why I would need one. Ultimately though, I'm not coming up with any good reasons. I'm not in law enforcement, I'm not a mechanic or electrician, I don't live out in the woods... I'm a city dweller with a desk job. Why would I need to carry a flashlight?

Of course I have lights in my car and at home. But outside of that, if I just need to illuminate something for a few seconds, I just use my cell phone.

Why would I need an EDC light? Convince me.

To help out the little old lady who can’t see the steps in the movie theater.

Well, for those moments you need a flashlight, didn't plan to bring one, and the cell phone isn't bright enough. For instance - you dropped your keys (or anything else) on your way across a parking lot, yard, etc. . . and you were carrying a bunch of stuff and didn't know when/where you dropped them. Also to impress others. Aww. . . c'mon, why do you need a good reason - just do it!

I use mine to light up the backdoor while I'm trying to unlock it (my Tank is so bright I don't have to aim it right at the lock to see). Or I've used it when I've dropped something (like under my car) and it has rolled away.

-Garry

If you work in a brightly lit place (I work in a hospital) you will be surprised how often some extra light comes in handy.

For finding stuff (Last time it was a tiny screw from the boss' glasses dropped on the carpet. Time before that it was the RFID chip from his car key - fell out while I was replacing the battery) you've dropped on the carpet a light is amazingly useful. Get your eye down to floor level and sweep the beam of a light over it. Works every time for me.