xml2 u2 in ultrafire c8

Hi there, newbie here so go easy :slight_smile:

I have a c8 which was using a xml u2 led on a 16mm board but it stopped working . So i purchased two xml2 u2 hc and replaced however for some reason it is still dim it shines but no where near its full potential, i know its not the led or driver as i have tried two xml2s and two different drivers (both 2.8a) i think the problem is how far the reflector sits down over the led but im using the same centering ring and the xml2 looks identical dimension wise as the xml u2 :frowning:

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Welcome to the forum , H1ST .

Try it without the reflector.
Also, what kind of cells are you using? Did you try different ones?

The led works fine itself and is full brightness i just dont see why its not as bright once the reflector is on.

It looks like the xml2 is seated normally but its almost as if the led doesnt sit high enough inside the reflector although the old xml u2 was exactly the same and worked fine then.

not sure if im explaining it very well.

using sony 18650vc3

because reflector is touching contacts on the emitter making short circuit…

Ohh no no i should have mentioned its definitely not shorting, the centering ring raises it well above the wires and ive also tried with an insulating ring over the wires with still no avail.

waa

Is there a difference in brightness if you bridge the battery to the tube rather than powering through the switch?

Just tried it and thats not it either.

I put the other xml2 in an ultrafire wf 501b with smo reflector also being driven at 2.8a and it throws just as far as the c8 with more flood. Doesnt make sensw to me!

+1 on blaming the reflector.

Can you try turning the switch ON and then assembling the light? You said it seems full brightness w/o the reflector, so at some point during the re-assembly process you should see the output drop off… The root cause should be apparent at that point.