Can a cree XHP50 3v be driven by 1xaa?

Sorry to ask what is probably a very noob question but I do not see this addressed anywhere here or online at large, and I am pretty new to modding/dealing with emitters. Can the new cree XHP50 3Vs be run on a boost driver powered by 1xaa? What kind of efficiency can I expect vs an emitter more commonly used in this configuration i.e. any popular 3v 3.5mm emitter such as the 519a or xpl.

I have plans to put an xhp50 behind a ridiculously tall reflector from kaidomain (20mmx33mm) but I want to be sure the emitter can be properly driven at these levels before committing to the parts purchase. Thanks for the help!

2 Thanks

The 50.2 3V likes a good deal of power. 11 Amps if it can get it. Boosting an AA will be very difficult to get much out of this kind of emitter. It’s a quad core, or essentially 4 XPG2 if memory serves me correctly. Now, you might could boost to 1 XPG2, but don’t expect much from 4 on that tiny amount of power.

Welcome aboard!

2 Thanks

Welcome on BLF !

2 Thanks

Thanks for the quick responses!

1 Thank

What kind of output are you looking for from the small light? Any particular reason you chose the 50.2?

Typically a square ratio on the reflector, 1:1, serves best for the most pleasing beam. This type of parabolic curve lends itself to our LED output patterns. A really tall for its width reflector, especially with a quad die emitter, is likely to be ringy and ugly in it’s beam profile.

You might like it, you might not, building it may teach you what to like and dislike. :wink:

I think a Wurkkos TS10 is from “Wow, bright” to “eats unpractical quick batteries” already to far on the later side. :wink:

I’ve got a couple of them and they’re running 5 to 6 Amps. They make a great flooder, but you can only get the 3V version in cold white 6500k and not with a high CRI. Use a orange peel reflector with them- I’ve tried smooth and it shows up their bad characteristics more.