Inexpensive oscilloscope?

When a severe windstorm took out power here for five+ days, I had to run critical household circuits (refrigeration,lighting and a few convenience circuits) on a 8KW portable generator. The UPS power supplies I have on my PC’s whined about low voltage while on gen power, even though two different high quality, true RMS DMM’s indicated there was 117 ~ 119 vAC present. A Sure Test analyzer, however, indicated 106 ~ 109 vAC. Testing was done at wall outlets and directly at the 120 vAC outlets on the gen itself, with identical results.

I’m a rank amateur at using a 'scope, and this may be the only time I’ll ever need one, so value pricing, simplicity and ease of use are primary objectives. I wish to:

1. determine if the waveform coming from the gen is anything close to a true sine wave, or a modified square wave, and,
  2. what the peak-to-peak voltage truly is.

Id like to stay under $100.00 USD, in a perfect world under $50.00 USD.

Thanks for any helpful suggestions!

slmjim

Have you checked Eevblog? It’s the kind of question which arises regularly. https://www.eevblog.com/forum/

Good luck

Its disconcerting how many false and inaccurate readings have been reported across forums concerning power measurements. This forum is absolutely riddled with them. I too would be interested in an economical method of accurately analyzing VAC being supplied by a generator, inverter or UPS. Also of interest would be to measure THD at the wall socket as current load is increased on the device supplying the power. Reading the buyer ratings on amazon, most of the inexpensive analyzers sold appear to be inaccurate junk when checked against expensive commercial analyzers. I gave up at that point but need to address this sooner or later.

Would you please get back to us and let us know what you find? Even if its a link to another forum, that would be helpful to more than a few of us who aren’t electrical engineers or gurus!