New and need help selecting a flashlight

I’m new to flashlights and this forum. I posted once before asking about multiple aa or aaa flashlights and was quickly informed that 18650 batteries are much better. So now I’m asking for more help! I have opened up my mind to other battery sizes and would like to know what the best budget light is. my primary uses would be for a night stand light and to check my yard. I like the throw of my 3d led Maglite but that’s been turned into my car light. I like to be able to see far off outside and then flood with bright light inside, I need a good do all light basically. I would like to stay around $25. I’ve been temped by a Coast light at my local Wal-Mart, that claims to have 1000 lumens, but its about twice as much as I would like to pay. My main concern with using a light that’s not AA, AAA, C, or D cell is availability of the batteries. I know they can be found online, if you have a favorite site and battery feel free to suggest that also, but can they also be found in stores like Wal-Mart or Office Max? Anyhow, please suggest the best do all light and battery set up you can think of! Thank you!

-David

Rechargeable 18650 batteries have more energy—but aren’t readily available
at retail outlets like AA, AAA, & D’s are.
I suggest starting with standard battery types before moving into 18650
lithium battery territory.
No light can do it all in terms of your needs of flood & throw—but for a
relatively powerful light, using standard batteries—
I’d recommend the ( 4 x AA) StarryNight SA-22.

Then maybe move to a Solarforce L series light, which uses commercially available
(2 x) cr123 batteries.

start here

http://www.mtnelectronics.com/index.php?route=product/category&path=80&sort=p.price&order=ASC

there are no wrong answers.

If you don’t like it after a while, all of them o this list can be modified to better reflect what you later want.