Newbie here - is this flashlight a great deal?

I’m new here and was posting questions about the mini maglite pro I was thinking of getting / what else is out there for low cost, etc.

I’m looking for a small flashlight that runs on AA or AAA (I have loads of those in alkaline so I don’t mind having to change those) and is really bright.

People were making a bunch of suggestions in the $14 - $20 - $30 range and I was spending way too much time debating these in my head : )

Today at Costco, I saw this 4 pack of 3xAAA duracell flashlights. the package says 350 lumens. that’s with their AAA batteries I would think, rather than the 14500 that some flashlights use to come up with really high lumens ratings. 4 of these in the pack for…. $16?! $4 / flashlight… this IS the BUDGETLightForum.

Anyone care to play devils advocate?

From what little I know from reading posts here:

pros
cheap
bright
uses AAA
Comes from costco so if there’s ever a problem, they’ll take them back, but at $4 each, not a big deal
doesn’t roll
aluminum body

cons
you have to step through Hi-low-strobe-off on the tail button
bigger than the harbor freight / promotional 9 LED flashlights I used to think were really bright

I took some pictures and was trying to see how to post them, then went to the costco site to use their pictures… and saw the reviews?! I guess i have my answer : (

http://www.costco.com/Duracell-LED-Flashlight-350-Lumens%2C-4-pack.product.100320474.html

I don’t really care much for those. I prefer a parabolic reflector or TIR optic over zoomy optics. I prefer 1AA or 2AA format over multi AAA in a caddy.

I’d rather have one light (even if it costs more) that meets my preferences. More of the wrong thing doesn’t make it better… its still the wrong thing. Making it cheaper doesn’t alleviate anything either.

For the same price I can get a light like this that perfectly matches my needs and preferences.

my .02