School a newb on how to use 16340 cells

So I am totally new to this whole high power LED flashlight thing and I am thinking about going rcr so I can use my light as much as I want. I have never had any litium rechargeable batts before. I have done some searching, and read this:lithium battery safety…, but I still have a few questions.

I’m deciding between a BC10 and an Eagletac D25C. I was recommended to use a IMR for the BC10 due to current draw. I have no idea what battery would be best for the D25C.

What I don’t know is if there is anything different about operating my light with rcr’s vs. a consumable, so here are my questions.

• I read you don’t want to run them below 3v. How do I know when I’m out in the field? What if I run it till it dies?
  • I see that the mah ratings on the rcr’s is much lower than comsumables, seems like this would equal shorter run times, is this true? How much if so?
  • Should I run a protected battery?

*What rcr for a BC10?

• What rcr for a D25C?
  • What charger? I read that the Intellicharge I4 is good and it’s within my budget.

Thanks

Rechargeable batteries of any kind should not be run dead. This is especially true of Lithium ion cells. Member Scaru has done done good work collecting the info you need. Look up his posts and you will find this or wait a bit and he will post a link for you. Some of the lights we use have drivers capable of monitoring battery voltage and signaling or stepping down when the battery is low. Usually the light will dim significantly when the battery voltage gets low anyway. Yes the amphour rating if rcrs is way less than primaries but when multiplied by the number if charge cycles the rcr comes out way ahead. Take a little time to get familiar with the various chemistries as they can be confusing. Read, read, read.