What sets the inexpensive apart from the expensive?

A recent phone call prompted the topic of this thread. Another Deputy on my shift called me up to ask my opinion on a particular light he was thinking about getting for on-duty. I looked up the website he gave me and it was a nice flashlight but the price was, in my opinion, quite high. The low-end version of the light was $130 and the high end over $400. I explained to him that I’m NOT an expert on flashlights but was happy to show him what I’ve been using. For the last few years I’ve carried a Sipik on duty in the cargo pocket of my uniform TDU’s. And I have several clones in my EDC/GHB/BOB and for camping. I’ve simply been very impressed with these lights. They’ve been knocked around in my pocket (I literally have to go hands on with bad guys on an all to often regularity with this in my pocket and it just keeps shining like a champ), they’re the brightest light that I have (I use either a 14500 or 18650 accordingly) and well…they’re so inexpensive I’ve purchased a bunch for personal use as well as nifty little gifts for family. I just purchased 10 on Amazon for $35.

So my question would be; in what way is a $100 - $400 light better that this $4 flashlight? The little Sipik just does everything I ask of it and if it were to break or get lost…well heck, I’m out less than $4 and I just go grab another one out of the drawer. Thoughts appreciated and thank you.

Most of us in this forum will share your opinion, that is why we are here :slight_smile:
Anyway, I assume your sipik model is an sk68 (based on the price you said)… I personally prefer, if the intention is going cheap, a cheap p60 host (I.e. 502b) with one or a couple of drop-ins, or even better, a host for every drop-in, they are very cheap

Quality. Workmanship. Design. Durability. Rarity. Desirability. Marketing.

Why a Mercedes and not an (insert favourite brand here)
Why Rolex and not Seiko or even Casio?
Why leather and not vinyl?