Saltyboi6704's 11th Annual Old Lumens Entry - Modified Category

This is my first time participating in this contest after some people suggested I should enter my creation for this year’s OL contest, and as I haven’t really been on BLF much I derped and ended up making a separate post instead of entering immediately. This post will reuse images as well as add some more with better descriptions and elaborate more on how I built my light.

The inspiration to mod this started from a few posts on /r/flashlight showing off the light, and I thought it would be a fun project to start. I did not plan this much in advance, but pretty much just looked around at what spare parts I had - a spare XHP70.3 HI on an MCPCB and an M3-C driver. Upon taking the light apart I realised it was possible to fit 2x26650 cells in series as opposed to the originally planned 26800 with a 3D printed spacer, so I changed my driver choice to the 6V8A L6 buck driver. This also gave me an opportunity to add a 58mm lens from Convoy to my order as the stock polycarbonate one had to be removed destructivel (more on that later). I did not have access to many tools so milled or turned components would be near impossible or very tricky.

Starting with the disassembly: