How to reflow solder an LED emitter on a PCB or MCPCB.

Hi all,

I have decided its time to do an instructional video series. “Flashlight hax” will be the theme for most of it. I thought re-flowing would be a good place to start since I get a lot of questions about it. Hope you enjoy.

If this tutorial helped you please click “like” on the video. If you enjoyed it and would like to get a notification when the next video on the series comes up you can subscribe.
Here is a thread on how to use a soldering iron.

1 Thank

Great video. I wish there had been more of this type of “how to” videos when I was a beginner modder. Thank god Old Lumens was here for us, or I would have been lost.

Well made! Good resource. I wish I had seen this when I did my first reflow. :cry:

Thanks vob. Nice video.

Wow, this is a great video ’vestureofblood’!!!
It answers every question I had about this subject as well as took the “mystery” out of it. I actually believe I can do this now without a problem.
Thank you for sharing this……… :slight_smile:

EDIT: May I suggest this thread be made a “STICKY”…. The info is priceless as far as I am concerned. :slight_smile:

Very well done! You could be an educator. I am not a model so this was really an eye opener for me.

thanks!

Good video, thanks for this. Also big thanks for the work you have uploaded on Oshpark.

Good Stuff.

Nice video …
you need to start doing infomercials.

-

-

See how large a letter I have written unto you with mine own hand

Thanks for video. It was very useful.

Wow! This just came on time!

I’m planning on reflowing 4 3’5×3’5mm emitters on an XHP70 board. I see you “tap” the emitters to remove excess solder but, I wonder what will happen upon tapping over the dome of each one of the emitters on such a 2×2 array. :confused:

Cheers

P.S.: Great tutorial.

NICE thanks!

Thank you all for the comments, I appreciate them.

I know you can do it.

“What one man can do, another can do”